Marvel Plot Points

A fan site for the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game by Margaret Weis Productions

Hero Datafile: Gambit

Well, as I mentioned on Monday, we are going to be offering hero datafiles related to our Monday Milestones articles. The milestone set this week is for the X-Men. So for your enjoyment, we present the ragin’ cajun: Gambit! You can find his bio here at the Marvel Universe Wiki.
Feel free to leave your feedback in the comments. If you have any suggestions for other datafiles you would like to see, please let me know.

25 comments on “Hero Datafile: Gambit

  1. BrianLiberge
    March 13, 2012

    Stolen! Thanks I needed this. *crosses his fingers for Rogue, Iceman or X-23*

    Any chance we can get the template for making our own heroes look nice?

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 13, 2012

      I’ll see what I can do about those three. Rogue would be really interesting.

      • Mark
        March 13, 2012

        An idea for Rogue, Andrew: Give her Ms. Marvel’s Kree Genetics power set for half her powers (removing her energy blast, of course). Rogue did, after all, get her powers from Ms. Marvel.

      • Andrew Gatlin
        March 13, 2012

        Yeah Mark, that would work.

      • nerdcore
        March 30, 2012

        Rogue is trick….as is Jaime Maddrox…..

  2. Mark
    March 13, 2012

    I can definitely provide it. It’s a large file, and a Photoshop document. It’s also a confusing mess. I haven’t placed the layers in very good order. I’ll post it up later in the week.

    • BrianLiberge
      March 13, 2012

      Awesome

    • "Jester" David
      March 15, 2012

      I would love to have the hero / villain photoshop files. Too many characters I just *have* to create!

  3. the L0N
    March 13, 2012

    I for one would like to see the Invaders and Liberty Legion, but then I am an old fart.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 13, 2012

      Do you want datafiles or milestones, or both?

      • the L0N
        March 13, 2012

        Both.

  4. Lukas
    March 13, 2012

    I’d like to see someone’s take on Multiple Man. I’ve some ideas of how I’d do it myself, but it seems like one of the power sets that’s open to a very wide range of interpretations.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 13, 2012

      That could be really awesome actually.

    • nerdcore
      March 30, 2012

      Hum…..

      Challenge Accepted
      [insert meme here]

  5. Pingback: Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Collected Miscellanies | Exploring Infinity

  6. Dave Turner
    March 14, 2012

    Great stuff. If you’re taking requests, I have a friend who’d love to see Nightcrawler statted up. I have some very rough ideas of my own, but I’d love to see how you tackle it.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 14, 2012

      I’ll add him to my list. I’m hoping to start working through some of the requests then end of this week/ first of next week.

  7. Bobby
    March 20, 2012

    Great work!

    I have my own version I was working on for my game. I did borrow a couple of modifications from your sheet.

    Namely, I did not have the Psychic Resistance on the sheet at all. Good call.

    I *Loved* Cajun Casanova and replaced my original Southern Charmer distinction with this.

    A few of the changes I made for my version of Gambit:

    Additional SFX on Energy Tap aka Molecular Acceleration. Affliction is there to cover the kind of tricks Gambit can do with cards such as bring something down on someone with an explosion, etc. From what I remember, he tends to do this a lot.

    I kept the rating of Energy Blast aka Kinetic Charge at 8 rather than 10. I love the idea of Unleashed being on the sheet, but I think upping to a 12 with this power is a bit overkill from what I remember of Gambit’s power.

    For the Telescopic bo, I kept this weapon at a d6, closer to Black Panther or Daredevil rather than the D8 rating that matches Cap’s Vibranium Shield.

    I also don’t see a justification for the weapon having a d8 endurance, so I left that out.

    I added Grapple to the SFX under telescopic bow because I saw it on Daredevil and remember Gambit using the staff to hold or bind opponents at times.

    Link to my version: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Ajm_cINdTg5ydFY1NjFCb0k3VVBtcjJMcmhaZ2dLTlE#gid=0

    • Brian Liberge
      March 21, 2012

      Hey Bobby,

      First off, nice use of Google Spreadsheet. I love how versatile it can be.

      More on topic, the tough part of a hero like Gambit, is that he’s one of those mutants who have fluctuated in power level over the years. Its not entirely clear how much of this is the influence of others, such as Mr. Sinister and Apocalypse, or how much of this is Gambit’s unfilled potential.

      I suspect you could build his datafile in many ways, depending on which event period you were basing it on.

  8. Jordan
    March 28, 2012

    Great work, and nice sheet design!

    Quick correction : the milestone should be “Bonjour chérie” (roughly “Hello darling”), not “Bonjour chére”, which, if spelled correctly (“Bonjour chère”; “chére” is not a word), would mean “Hello dear”… which would be a GREAT milestone for aunt May, by the way! 🙂

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 28, 2012

      I’ll get it fixed. Gotta love Google Translate…

  9. Pingback: Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Collected Miscellanies

  10. Pingback: Hero Datafile: Rogue « Plot Points

  11. Ryan
    July 30, 2012

    So the Marvel website also lists a hypnotic charm ability? A low grade Mind Control perhaps?

    • Andrew Gatlin
      July 30, 2012

      If you added that, it probably shouldn’t be more than a D6. Something like that could also arguably be handled as a Stunt.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2012 by in Datafiles.

All images and names of characters and locations, unless expressly stated and are ™ & © Marvel & Subs. Used without permission.

Heroic Roleplaying & the Cortex Plus system ™ Margaret Weis Productions, Ltd.

This website is a work of fandom and is not intended to profit from or infringe on the rights of Marvel or Margaret Weis Productions, Ltd.

Categories