Marvel Plot Points

A fan site for the Marvel Heroic Roleplaying Game by Margaret Weis Productions

Hero Datafile: Hawkeye

This week’s Monday Milestone tie-in datafile is the World’s Greatest Marksman: Hawkeye!

Like I mentioned Monday, I had a blast designing Hawkeye’s datafile. These panels gave me a ton of inspiration. They might help you with roleplaying Hawkeye, especially if you are less familiar with him. You can find Hawkeye’s Marvel Universe Wiki entry here.

Jason Seas won my little informal contest by being the first to correctly guess this week’s datafile. Jason, leave a comment on this post with the character you want me to stat up, and we’ll get it put up just as soon as we can.

Keep your suggestions coming. I’m going to start working my way through them, hopefully this week.

19 comments on “Hero Datafile: Hawkeye

  1. Andrew Gatlin
    March 20, 2012

    Yes, I know there’s a typo on the sheet. I’ll get it fixed.

  2. Jason Seas (@jasonseas)
    March 20, 2012

    *ponders ponders* Tough question. I think I will go on the mutant side of things and go with Pyslocke, after her Lady Mandarin transformation.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 20, 2012

      You got it dude. I’ll get to work on it.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 20, 2012

      Just to be clear. Do you want her in the Lady Mandarin form, or just with the powers she had after that point?

  3. Brian Liberge
    March 20, 2012

    Very nice. I like how you separated his training from his bow, into two power sets, that should help his accuracy quite a bit.

    I’m a little surprised you gave him a d10 for the weapon. Hawkeye’s cool and all, but his average shot isn’t generally equal to high explosives or lightning.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 20, 2012

      It’s true that his average doesn’t hit with as much force as explosives or lightning, but I would argue that it could have as much effect.

  4. Pingback: Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Collected Miscellanies | Exploring Infinity

  5. hawke
    March 20, 2012

    That’s a key distinction that I think all novices to this game are wrapping our heads around. Uncoupling physical effect dice from our idea of “HP damage” is something I have to remind myself to do as I look through these things.

  6. shadowavenger
    March 21, 2012

    Vision please

  7. Meltar
    March 21, 2012

    Nice datafile, thanks!

    I have a question, though. Shouldn’t Hawkeye have a D6 Swining in the arrows power set? He has appeared in many comics moving through the city that way.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 21, 2012

      To me that’s the kind of thing that could be handled with a stunt or push die. It’s not a core part to the character, like web-swinging is to Spider-Man.

  8. senatorchatty
    March 22, 2012

    Do you have a font or images or something for the die types? I want to make a custom sheet for my players!

    • Andrew Gatlin
      March 22, 2012

      I’m using a Photoshop template that Mark designed. I believe he’s planning on making it available in the near future.

  9. Pingback: Avengers Vs. X-Men: Overview « Plot Points

  10. Pingback: Avengers Vs. X-Men: Overview « Plot Points

  11. Pingback: Marvel Heroic Roleplaying: Collected Miscellanies

  12. Jared Rascher
    May 26, 2012

    Used this one in a play test (not an actual full on game yet, dang it) versus the Boomerang file from the site and it was a lot of fun. Especially when snagging XP for catching one of Boomerangs weapons and throwing it back at him.

    • Andrew Gatlin
      May 26, 2012

      Great!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2012 by in Datafiles.

All images and names of characters and locations, unless expressly stated and are ™ & © Marvel & Subs. Used without permission.

Heroic Roleplaying & the Cortex Plus system ™ Margaret Weis Productions, Ltd.

This website is a work of fandom and is not intended to profit from or infringe on the rights of Marvel or Margaret Weis Productions, Ltd.

Categories